top of page

How to Dye Raw Pasta

I have discovered the most amazing thing! I can’t believe that in my five years of teaching kindergarten I never did this before. I read about it before, but I thought it would be too messy to do it.

It’s…wait for it…coloured pasta! Yes, that’s the discovery. But what you can do with it afterwards is amazing.

First, let me tell you how you can dye pasta beads:

  • Get a small container (tupperware)

  • Pour 1 TBSP of rubbing alcohol (or vinegar)

  • Add food colouring (the desired colour, or mix colours)

  • Place the pasta beads in the box

  • Close the lid and shake until the beads are coloured

Afterwards, place them on an oven tray (on parchment paper) to dry until the next day or for a couple of hours. I must admit that I didn’t have the patience to wait more than an hour.

You can use the beads to make bracelets and necklaces, to make shapes, to practise patterns and colour recognition with your kids, or as props for playdough. I’m sure there are lots of ideas on Pinterest, but these are the first that came to my mind.

I hope you’ll have fun with this little project. I can’t wait to buy some other shapes of pasta beads tomorrow.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page